About FICS

Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)

In 2000, the global community, under the Umbrella of the United Nations (UN), adopted the Mellenium Declaration and committed themselves to working collectively towards improving thelives of billions of poor individuals around the world. In 2001, a team of UN experts created a set of Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) with indicators.

There are 8 MDGs:

  1. Eradicating Extreme Poverty and Hunger.
  2. Achieving Universal Primary Education.
  3. Promoting Gender Equality and Women Empowerment.
  4. Reducing Child Mortality rates.
  5. Improving Maternal Health.
  6. Combating HIV/AIDS, Malaria and other diseases.
  7. Ensuring Environmental Sustainability.
  8. Developing a Global Partnership for Development.

All 193 UN member states and at least 23 international organizations had agreed to achieve these goals by the year 2015.